Many of our customers ask us about the gluten content of our soups. They will usually say, “Do you have any soups that are gluten-free? Because I cannot have gluten.”

We know that gluten has become an important topic for many people, and this means they are looking for accurate information about the gluten content in their diets. However, while some people have made a choice to avoid gluten for health reasons – to improve their overall health through dietary choices – some people have a severe reaction to gluten, and cannot tolerate even trace amounts.

Gluten sensitivity, or intolerance to gluten, is different from Celiac Disease, so we have some specific tips and information to help our Soup-er Fans make the best decisions for themselves and their families.

Celiac Disease

Celiac Disease is a serious digestive auto-immune disorder which affects the lining of the small intestine when gluten proteins are consumed.  If you have Celiac Disease, chances are you have discussed your symptoms with a doctor, and you have learned how to manage your condition.

Non-Celiac Gluten Sensitivity

Non-celiac gluten sensitivity is different from Celiac Disease, but it is not fully understood by researchers. It may be caused by gluten, or it may be caused by a “group of poorly digested  carbohydrates.” If you are dealing with a digestive problem, and avoiding gluten seems to help, but you test negative for Celiac Disease, Souptacular does have two soups that have NO GLUTEN ADDED.

Soups with No Gluten Added

If you need a soup with no gluten added, we recommend our Lentil Lovers and Split Pea. These are two delicious soups with all of the nutritional benefits and the convenience of Souptacular soups, but without the gluten found in barley.

Cross-Contamination of Barley Gluten Dust

Souptacular soups are made in one room, along with other barley products. We cannot guarantee against cross-contamination.  If you suffer from a severe reaction to gluten (Celiac Disease), we do not recommend these soups for you.

If you are Gluten Intolerant, we recommend that you thoroughly rinse the legume mix of our No Gluten Added soups to ensure that any barley dust cross-contamination has been removed.

If you are making a dietary choice to avoid gluten, but you are not sensitive to trace amounts, Lentil Lovers and Split Pea should be a good fit for you, as they do not contain barley.